August Favorites ft. Hourglass, Milani Cosmetics, and Nantucket Perfume Company

This list may have been longer if I hadn’t bought all of the worst beauty product that England had to offer in the beginning of the month.  But, I kind of did so the majority of my purchases in August were duds.  Looking on the bright side, it gave me a chance to appreciate the wonderful things I already own and spend some extra time with the new releases.  Please enjoy my favorites from this month and please don’t hate me for including one that’s $60!
IMG_3104

IMG_3079

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette, $58.  Wow.  I’ve had this palette for so long that I forgot how expensive it was.  Luckily, these powders are really exceptional.  They don’t add a lot of texture to your skin, they’re very finely milled.  Quality wise, these may be the best powders I own.  You can use them as setting powders or highlighters.  All of this strobing/excessive highlighting has me wanting the exact opposite: very softly glowing skin.  This palette is perfect for this.  It’s also a beautiful, subtle brow bone highlight.

MAC STUDIO FIX FLUID REVIEW

image2

image3

MAC Studio Fix Fluid Foundation, $27.   This foundation has no flashback, no fragrance, and photographs beautifully.  Above are two photos from my instagram that I took with flash.  I can’t believe how buttery smooth my skin looks.  I promise you, it doesn’t not usually look like that.  I didn’t like the way it applied initially, but I eventually found that you can’t swipe this across your face.  I use a dense buffing brush and press it into the skin.  Now I love it.  This foundation has a reputation for being very heavy and high coverage.  I was happy to see that it is buildable: you have a lot of control of the coverage.  I don’t see myself even looking for a new foundation for a while!

IMG_3082

Nantucket Perfume Company Oil in White Jasmine & Mint, $45.  Last summer I went to Nantucket for the first time.  I love that place so much.  While on one of those tiny planes that takes you from Boston to Nantucket, the lady next to me told me to make sure I visit this shop.  Because I have sensitive skin, I was really intrigued and eventually really pleased.  This store creates the scents of popular fragrances without any chemicals or additives, they only use pure natural oils.  They showed me a bunch of well known perfumes they had replicated and I was amazed by how similar they smelled.  I like this because the scent lasts forever.  If you have a hard time with scents staying on your skin, this is definitely worth checking out.  These are also less expensive and the bottle actually lasts longer because it’s so potent that you only need a tiny bit per application.  They’re also great for travel because of the small sized bottles.  I just realized they’re available online, which has me plotting for some more, maybe 🙂

Colour Pop Ultra Matte Lipstick Solow

colour pop ultra matte lip solow

Colour Pop Ultra Matte Lip in “Solow”, $6.  I’ve already talked about this product here and here so I won’t beat a dead horse.  What makes this a favorite is the color.  It’s a beautiful pinkish brown/my lips but better/pinky nude shade for my skin tone.  It’s by far my favorite shade of the 9 that I own, and I’ve gotten a ton of compliments when wearing it.MAC Prolongwear concealer

MAC Pro Longwear Concealer,  $21.  I’ve been using this conceal the redness/veins on my eyelids.  I had previously been using MAC’s Soft Ochre Paint Pot, but never felt it really applied evenly.  This gives me great coverage, goes on smooth, and primes my eyes for shadow.  It’s also a great concealer!  With my Studio Fix Fluid being buildable to full coverage, though, I haven’t even needed concealer anywhere else.  Products from MAC’s Pro Longwear line never fail to impress me.

milani color statement nail polish dolci review

Milani Color Statement Nail Lacquer in “Dolci”, $3.99.  I got this for free when I bought my Milani Amore Matte Lip Creams (review here) online.  This is such a unique metallic color.  It’s taupey and pink at the same time; a cool-toned metallic that isn’t too silver.  It hasn’t been the longest lasting nail product I’ve used, but it is a really fun color.

colour pop sheer lippie stix juice barColour Pop Sheer Lippie Stix in “Juice Bar”, $5.  I also wrote a review about these here, so check that out if.  I brought this to California with me and I have a feeling I won’t be getting it back after my sisters got their hands on it.  Everyone loves this shade and I understand why.  It’s a perfectly versatile, pigmented pink without being too loud.

ardell wispies demi wispies reviewArdell Wispies and Demi Wispies, $3.99.  All summer I was just too lazy to wear fake lashes, I’ll admit it.  That is, until August when I bought a bunch of these on Amazon.  The Ardell Wispies and Demi Wispies have been my favorite lashes for years, for so many reasons.  The lash band is thin, they’re affordable, and they strike a perfect balance between bold and natural.  I’m wearing them in all of the pictures of me in this post and I think they make a huge difference in photos.

Share this with a friend who’s always talking behind their perfume’s back, someone who also bought a bunch of crap products in London so they’ll feel consoled, or someone who likes both $6 lipstick and $58 face powders.

Also, my beautiful London ladies, I know that you have great products going on.  It’s my own fault for being a fool and not checking your twitter feeds for recommendations before heading out to shop.  I love you all.

All The Best,

E-SIG

Twitter:  JuliaVCaruso (here)
Instagram:  ju_liacaruso (here)
Facebook: All The Best Beauty (here)
Pinterest:  All The Best Beauty (here)
Email:  JuliaVCaruso@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “August Favorites ft. Hourglass, Milani Cosmetics, and Nantucket Perfume Company

  1. I must say that you do more than justice to the worst products you have tried. I trust you were/are a model, since you photographic beautifully. Absolutely love your website and wish you continued $ucce$$. You are invited to come visit my site as well. http://www.nobodyputsbabyinthecorner.net (formerly amixedbagpro.net / Thanks a bunch / God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

