Allure Beauty Box First Impressions

Six pretty little samples delivered to my door!  This is perfect for someone who travels a lot, or someone who may be afraid to try different brands and products.  It’s also awesome for someone who’s just getting into makeup and wants to try a few things at a time.  I wish these were around when I was a teenager.  I would have been all up in that catholic school with my purple nails and peppermint hair.  For $15, you can also get a box like this every month (here).  Let’s check it out!

IMG_2361

IMG_2415

Screen Shot 2015-07-30 at 9.53.57 PM

IMG_2422

Avene Cleanance Gel, $20.  I’m allergic to fragrance and this cleanser’s smell is pretty potent, so I won’t be trying this.   Hopefully it will work out for someone else I know, even if it’s only used as a body wash.IMG_2424

Butter London Nail Lacquer in “Violet’s Revenge”, $30 for set of 4.  I have never tried this formula before, but I do know that in the nail polish world, you’re nothing if your packaging isn’t rectangular so it already had that going for it.  I love this color.  It was created by Allure as part of their collaboration with Butter London, and they did a beautiful job.  It’ just understated enough, while still looking bold.  I wore it for four days and didn’t notice any chipping.

IMG_2429

Benefit They’re Real Push-up Liner, $24.  First of all, What!?  I’ve never seen a sample like this.  It looks like a mint.  I’ve never tried this liner because I hear it’s very hard to wash off.  I, personally, would rather my eyeliner run all over my face then have to ferociously scrub my delicate eye area.  SO, this one goes in the give-away bag that offer to pretty much anyone who comes over.

IMG_2433

Malin + Goetz Peppermint Shampoo, $20.  I love the smell of peppermint, especially during a morning shower.  I’m happy about this sample for sure.  I’ll probably take it with me when I go to California next week.  It doesn’t hurt to have an alternative to terrible hotel shampoo, especially in such a decent size.  I really like this brand’s lip balm, actually.  I’m already thinking that I’ll probably stop by their store in New York to get my fall skin care in order.  IMG_2437

Bumble and bumble Grooming Creme, $14.  I wish I had it while I was in London dealing with that hard water.  While I usually just let my hair air dry, it’s good to have something like this around for when I’m short on time and need to blow dry.  I usually like Bumble and bumble’s products, so I’m happy to add to my collection.IMG_2436

Salma Hayek Nuance Anti-Aging Super Cream, $19.99.  This also has fragrance in it (!!!) and didn’t have a safety seal so I’m definitely going to pass on this.  Shucks.

Did I get my $15 worth?  Well, the two fragranced products are a problem, but I really like the nail polish.  I also really think I’ll enjoy the two hair products.  Ipsy and Birchboxers, let me know how this compares to your boxes!  Check back tomorrow a big post reviewing popular liquid lipsticks, from drugstore to high end!

All The Best,

E-SIG

Facebook: All The Best Beauty (here)
Twitter:  JuliaVCaruso (here)
Instagram:  ju_liacaruso (here)
Pinterest:  All The Best Beauty (here)
Email:  JuliaVCaruso@gmail.com

7 thoughts on “Allure Beauty Box First Impressions

  1. I was receiving this box when it was Allure Sample Society. I enjoy the boxes at first but the last few before it converted to Allure Beauty Box were not so thrilling. I ended up canceling and haven’t been enticed to subscribe again. I enjoy Ipsy much more and have been debating on Boxy Charm.

    Like

  2. Interesting sample selections. Though, to be honest, I’m in love with Birchbox. I’ve found that, over time, they’ve really been able to cater it to MY interests. I.E. Over time, I’ve gotten a lot more hair products because I’ve answered the surveys and selected them as samples when they provide options. Though I’m always willing to try something new. 🙂

    xo, Jessica
    http://www.semisweettooth.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

