London Beauty Haul & First Impressions

I’m going to try really hard not to call you guys “mate” in this post, but I can’t promise you that I won’t.  I always go to Boots and Super Drug when I’m in London, but most of the time just to look because I don’t like checking bags.  Well, I sucked it up this time and just did the damn thing. I know (not from my own experience) that The Body Shop sells makeup in stores on the west coast, but I haven’t found any in stores on my side of country so I thought it would be fun to try a few things from them.  By the way, does anyone else constantly confuse Bath and Body Works, The Body Shop, and Bed Bath and Beyond?  I can’t be the only one who always has to stop and think about which bath store I’m talking about.  Anyway!  Some finds are better than others, but at least I got to expand my repertoire.  Please enjoy my purchases from my recent trip to London!

IMG_1666

The Body Shop All-in-One InstaBlur Primer  $22.  So you can buy this on Ulta’s website in the U.S.  Awkward.  I bought this hoping it would make my MAC Studio Fix Fluid go on smoother.  Is it much better than any other silicone-based primer that you can get at the drugstore?  I’m not really sure yet.  It’s not pictured because I’ve been using it so regularly that I forgot it was new.

1  Bourjois Bronzing Powder.  I’ve seen this a lot online, and people seem to love it.  I don’t know though.  I got shade 51 and I think it’s a great color for me.  The quality of the powder seems really nice in that it’s smooth and fine, but I have a hard time picking it up on my brush.    It’s also not incredibly pigmented.  I noticed this when I tried to use it as an eyeshadow.  PLUS this has fragrance in it.  I bought the Bourjois Healthy Mix foundation and concealer the last time I was in Scotland.  I guess because most drugstore products in the U.S. don’t have fragrance, I didn’t even think to check for fragrance.  It was beautiful but it also burned me, so I didn’t even take it with me on the next leg of my trip.  I have mixed feelings about this bronzer.

2  Barry M. Gelly Hi-Shine Lipstick.  This smells like delicious baked treats.  It’s kind of sticky.  I think my biggest problem is with this particular shade.  It has a weird sheen to it in certain light.  It’s also kind of flat.  I’m not sure that I’ll describe this well, but it kind of looks like a shade a very mature lady would wear.  Like, the one lipstick she owns that’s been sitting in her bag for 10+ years.  She probably doesn’t even like lipstick.  That’s how I imagine this shade to be.

 3  The Body Shop Colour Crush Lipstick.  It’s going to be a no from me on this lipstick.  It’s not creamy, there are chunks of glitter in it, and it has a frosty, satin-y finish.  I’ll probably never wear this.

4  The Body Shop All In One Face Base.  You’re supposed to be able to use this wet for more coverage and dry to set makeup.  I’m not sure how that would work, I haven’t tried it yet BECAUSE this powder is way too light for me.  When I was in the store there was a man with a loud speaker outside screaming because he didn’t like them using the words “french kiss” in their advertising.  I didn’t fully get it, but it was very disorienting especially because the store was already crowded.  Thus, I got a weird powder that’s too light for me.  We’ll see how it goes.

5  Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, Travel Sized.  I have been loving me some micellar water.  I really like Simple’s version, but I haven’t been able to find a smaller size.  This was actually the first travel sized micellar water I’ve ever found, so I grabbed it.

6  The Body Shop Velvet Gel Pen Eyeliner.  This isn’t incredibly black.  It’s fine, it didn’t hurt my eyes, and it’s pretty smooth.  I don’t think it’s anything special though.

7  The Body Shop Shimmer Waves Highlighting Blush.  This is nice!  I’m not sure how much I’ll use it, but it does add some luminosity and color to the face in one shot.  The colors are really pretty and it has a unique, pearly iridescence to it.

8  Honey Bronze Baked to Last Bronzer.  As far as actually bronzing the skin, this isn’t amazing.  It does give me a really nice, subtle glow if you don’t mind a little glitter.

9  The Body Shop Super Volume Mascara.  I haven’t opened this yet because I already have a few mascaras on rotation at the moment, but this dense wand is usually what I like so hopefully this will work out.

European beauties, let me know your thoughts on these!  To see my photo journal from this trip, click here and to see what I took in my makeup bag, click here.  Thanks for reading!

All The Best,

E-SIG

Facebook: All The Best Beauty (here)
Twitter:  JuliaVCaruso (here)
Instagram:  ju_liacaruso (here)
Pinterest:  All The Best Beauty (here)
Email:  JuliaVCaruso@gmail.com

6 thoughts on “London Beauty Haul & First Impressions

  1. I ALWAYS have to stop and think about whether I want to talk about Bath and Body Works and Bed, Bath, and Beyond! I do alright with The Body Shop, but the other two are brutal. You’re definitely not alone!

    These are some interesting thoughts! Definitely information to keep in mind, particularly The Body Shop makeup (as that is the only store I have access to). It’s too bad you found so many of their things disappointing. I’ll definitely remember this next time I find myself browsing their makeup!

    Erin
    http://orchidsandtea.blogspot.ca

    Like

    1. That’s SO funny, I thought maybe I was the only one. When I was trying to look up the name of the lipstick I actually googled “Bed Bath and Beyond Lipstick” and was like WHY IS THIS NOT COMING UP, lol. For the prices, there’s definitely better stuff out there!

      Like

  2. I liked Body Shop makeup before they launched the Colour Crush collection. I found their old eye shadows, blushers and lipsticks to be really high quality and pigmented. I suspect the acquisition of the company by L’Oreal might have something to do with the product decline… I haven’t bought makeup there in ages.

    Like

  3. How do you use micellar water? Is it really strong enough to stand on its own as a cleanser, or do you use it for toning after cleansing? Makeup remover? Really curious because i bought a bottle of Simple but haven’t used it yet!

    Like

    1. Hi curious! I wouldn’t rely on it solely to cleanse. There are some nights (late ones) that I just use this on my face and don’t wash it. My face feels better than just using a makeup wipe. You definitely can rely on it to take off all of your makeup, though. Your face won’t feel sticky or tight afterwards either. I hope you like it!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

