Photo Journal: An Afternoon in Boston

Even though Boston is only an hour plane ride away from New York City, it’s an incredibly unique city.  They have their own style, their own accents, their own attitude.  This makes it a lot of fun to visit, even if you only have 36 hours!  It doesn’t hurt that the air smells salty and the seafood is incredible, either.  Please enjoy some moments from my afternoon spent in Boston 🙂

IMG_0375 copy
IMG_0395 copy

IMG_0475 copy

IMG_0478 copy

IMG_0523 copy

IMG_0531 copy

IMG_0541 copy

IMG_0577 copy

IMG_0579 copy

IMG_0593 copy

IMG_0625 copy

IMG_0628 copy

IMG_0644 copy

IMG_0609 copy

The New England Aquarium.  Visiting here brought back memories from when I came here as a child.  The aquarium has a large tank in the center of the building with an ascending walkway wrapped around.  There are lots of cool fish in the bigger tank, and other fish in special environments on each level.  When you reach the top of the walkway you can look down into the tank.  It’s a really cool experience and the perfect way to spend a rainy afternoon.

IMG_0679 copy

IMG_0670 copy

IMG_0671 copy

IMG_0677 copy

Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market.  There are tons of shops and places to eat here.  Even if you’re not hungry, you can always sit on a bench and listen to some street performers.  Being that I was just starting my day, I didn’t need lunch and I didn’t need to rest yet.  So, I just checked it out, picked up a cookie, and went on my way.  I was kind of bummed about how commercial the shops were surrounding the actual hall.  I guess that’s to be expected, but it did give it a sort of mall-ish feel which wasn’t what I was looking for.  It was worth stopping by, though, and this cookie was delicious.

IMG_0687 copy

IMG_0720 copy

IMG_0730 copy

IMG_0731 copy

IMG_0736 copy

IMG_0744 copy

IMG_0747 copy

The Museum of Fine Arts.  If you’ve ever even slightly enjoyed a museum in the past, you have to come here.  It’s worth every single cent of the $25 admission, and even worth going for a second time as I had that day.  I really like their contemporary wing, but each section is fantastic.  You can easily spend an entire afternoon here enjoying both the beautiful building and the beautiful pieces.  While I was there, the work of Hokusai (the Japanese artist who’s famous for the Great Wave) was on exhibition.  It was really nicely done.  This was definitely my favorite part of the day.  Plus how funny are those people asleep on that couch?  Imagine just being like “hey, I heard there are some comfy couches in the American Wing”.

IMG_0779 copy

IMG_0792 copy

IMG_0815 copy

IMG_0826 copy

IMG_0830 copy

IMG_0838 copy

IMG_0842 copy

IMG_0887 copy

aaaaa

IMG_0977 copy The Arnold Arboretum.  After coming straight from London, I could not possibly have been happier to be enjoying some beautiful, sunny weather.  I wanted to take advantage of it as much as possible, so I took the Orange Line to the Arnold Arboretum after the MFA.  Not much is blooming this time of year, but it was still a really nice way to spend a couple of hours.  I definitely wore the wrong shoes (and pants!) for all of the walking I did, but it was so nice to be strolling that I didn’t mind.  I played music from my phone on earbuds and totally enjoyed my time there.  Hopefully I’ll be able to go back in the spring at one point!
IMG_1015 copy

If you’ve also been to Boston, let me know what you did!  I’m sure I’ll be back at some point!  Also, I split my “stories” section into two: Travel and New York City.  Hopefully this makes it easier to navigate.  For my photo journal from London, click here.  For my “get to know me” post, click here!  I hope you’ve had a fun weekend, thank you so much for reading!

All The Best,

E-SIG

Facebook: All The Best Beauty (here)
Twitter:  JuliaVCaruso (here)
Instagram:  ju_liacaruso (here)
Pinterest:  All The Best Beauty (here)
Email:  JuliaVCaruso@gmail.com

5 thoughts on “Photo Journal: An Afternoon in Boston

Leave a Reply

