July Beauty Favorites!

Another month, another favorites!  This month I’ve been into simple and fresh looks, especially with the heat and humidity in NYC.  Fresh skin, soft eyes, a bold lip and long lashes have been my go-to look ever since the weather started warming up in the spring.  I’m itching to do more sharp and matte looks, but I know I’ll be thinking the opposite by November.  Love the one you’re with, right?  Please enjoy this month’s beauty favorites!
IMG_9152

1  MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation, $27.  I didn’t realize how much I relied on this until I spent the past few weeks wearing the Morphe 35N Matte Palette (review here) exclusively.  That palette has a good yellowish nude, but it’s not as opaque as this powder.  I use it as an eyeshadow on my lids and they look bright, clean, and awake no matter what’s in my crease.  I hardly ever use it as an actual face powder because I prefer something less matte, but I love it as a highly pigmented lid shade.

2  Real Techniques Contour Brush, $17.99 in the “Core Collection”.  This is a great brush if you’re trying to avoid over applying your blush (see my most common mistakes here).  I dip it into the powder, press it against the apples of my cheeks once or twice, then blend it slightly towards my ears with a fluffier brush.  It helps to keep everything looking diffused and feels really nice against the face.

3  Maybelline Baby Lips Lip Gloss in “Pink Pizzazz”, $3.50.  I didn’t mean for this to be a Maybelline lip favorites, it just sort of happened.  I like this lip gloss because it’s small, it’s inexpensive, and it feels nice on the lips.  I’m not crazy about glossy lips, so this is a an easy way to put some gloss on my lips without overdoing it.  I wrote more here if you’re interested!

4  Maybelline Color Blur Lipstick in “Plum, Please”, $8.99.  I got this at the beginning of the month.  Mixed with “my, my magenta” it’s really easy to create a subtle ombré lip look.  It goes on creamy but leaves a matte finish. I like to wear it with a slightly defined crease and gold lids; I think it’s a different look for summer.  I love the magenta shade too (mostly because it makes my teeth look whiter).  The smudging tip it comes with is total nonsense, though.  Just call it a lipstick and charge us $7 for it, amiright?  I wrote a full review on there here.

5  Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick in “Lust for Blush”, $7.99.  I haven’t bought a high-end lipstick since early May (MAC’s relentlessly red, a very unique shade).  If a more expensive lipstick is going to make your life easier, then I’m all for it.  But with lipstick, you’re probably going to reapply no matter which formula or how expensive it is. So you might as well save a few dollars.  With the drugstore, the colors can sometimes be a little off, but Maybelline got this whole collection right.  The color lust for blush is really pretty and easy to pull off.  For a full review of these, click here!

6  Revlon PhotoReady Skinlights in Bare Light, $13.99.  A little pricey, huh?  This has been around for years, but I never tried it because $14 isn’t exactly a steal from the drugstore.  I have to say, though, this is a great product.  I’ve been using MAC’s Studio Fix Fluid to cover my rosacea, which is a little more matte than I’d like.  Mixing this with the foundation gives it a beautiful and natural finish.  Plus, you only need a small amount.  This stuff is worth every penny.  I’ve never tried it, but I’m sure this would make for a natural illuminating primer.

7  L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Amber Rush, $7.99.  After a disappointing experience with the MAC Dazzleshadows (review here) I started thinking about better alternatives that I already owned.  I love this color and the difference in fall out is huge.  I apply this with my fingers and it really stays put.  Plus, they’re at least $10 less.  The shade “Amber Rush” is a beautiful rose gold color, which is really nice for summer.  This is an awesome drugstore shadow.

8  Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in Dark Brown, $21.  My hair has gotten so light that this probably isn’t the best shade for me, but I’m okay with it.  I got this in a holiday set from Sephora and never opened it until about four weeks ago.  I really like it, though.  The pencil is extremely thin, making it hard to overline your brows.  Plus, the spooley on the other end is really convenient.

9  Stila Eyeshadow Trio in Goddess, $15.  I got this in a Stila summery-bronzey set from Sephora.  The red/brown color in the center is amazing, especially if you have brown eyes.  For travel I’ve been bringing this little compact along with “Vanilla Nuts” by Laura Mercier and “Uninterrupted” by MAC and I have a complete and easy eye look.  I’m seriously considering stocking up on these, which I never do.

10  Simple Cleansing Micellar Water, $7.99.  I make everyone who comes to my apartment watch me as I take off my makeup with this stuff.  It still amazes me that it actually takes off my makeup because it has the consistency of water.  It also doesn’t make your skin feel dry to sticky afterwards.  This bottle has lasted me since June, too, which never happens with makeup wipes.  I’m obsessed.  I actually just noticed I already put this in my June Favorites (here).  I guess I like it that much.  I don’t care, I’m keeping it in here!

Share some of your favorites from this month below!  If you have a blog too, let’s follow each other on Blog Lovin (here)!  Look out for a photo journal tomorrow 🙂

All The Best,

E-SIG

7 thoughts on “July Beauty Favorites!

  1. I have been seeing the Simple Cleanse Micellular water everywhere. I’m currently using Dr Jart+ Micro water and it’s the only product that easily takes off heavy and dark eye makeup. I need to try something less expensive. Thanks for the tips!!

    Like

  2. Ha – I’m drafting my July favourites list and L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Amber Rush makes an appearance too! It really IS such a beautiful shade and easy to apply with amazing wear time. Great list – I haven’t tried Maybelline lipsticks but from everything I read, they’re quite nice.

    Like

  3. I purchased the simple cleansing water after you first talked about it.. and has quickly become one of my favorite products.. Glad you include it on your favorites : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

