Allure Beauty Box: First Impressions

This is the single best beauty box I’ve ever received.  Seriously.  And I’ve received a lot of beauty boxes in my life.  Is Allure trying to show off or something?  Well, it’s working.  The problem with other subscription services is that I usually wouldn’t buy the full sized version of the products, so I certainly don’t want to spend money on a sample.  Allure’s service is different.  Their boxes include samples of established brands and I actually feel like I’m trying out things that were already on my list.  Each of these things would be awesome 100 point perks from Sephora and at $15 I think this is a great value.  So without further ado, let’s see what I got!

IMG_7878

1  Bumble & Bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil Primer, $39.  I’ve really liked the Bumble & Bumble products that I’ve tried so far.  This has UV protection, so I’ll definitely be using this on my hair during my travels in August, since I don’t have a leave-in conditioner with UV protection in a smaller size.  I’m so happy I got this because now I don’t have to buy one, yay!

2  Super Goop! Defense Refresh Setting Mist SPF 50, $28.  So far I’ve only sprayed this on the back of my hand, but based on that experience I can tell you that it does dry matte, it doesn’t feel sticky, and it does go on clear.  The thought of a setting spray that has such a high SPF is intriguing, and (even better) this doesn’t leave your skin with any white residue.  This is another one that will go in my travel bag.

3  Estee Lauder Sumptuous Infinite Mascara, $26.  I’m NOT opening this for a while because I have exactly 1 million mascaras opened right now because of my “5 mascaras swatched on my lashes” posts (here) and (here).  Looking at the wand online, it looks like I’m going to like this mascara.  The bristles are close together and I usually do like their mascaras anyway.

4  Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Serum, $65.  YES!  I’ve been wanting to get my hands on a sample of this stuff ever since Surleen from Life’s Melody recommended it.  It’s fragrance free and people swear by the Night Repair cream, so I’m excited to try this out.

5  Oscar Blandi Pronto Invisible Volumizing Dry Shampoo Spray, $25.  I’ve bought the full size of this before and liked it.  The scent is great.  It’s always good to have small bottles of these around.  I swear, I’ll leave my apartment with second-day dirty hair in the early afternoon and it’s totally fine.  But by mid afternoon I look like I have twentieth-day dirty hair.  Does this happen to anyone else?  0-100 real quick, I swear.

6  InvisiBobble Traceless Hair Ring, $8.89 (set of three).  I’m not really particular about what kind of hair ties I use at all.  Thick, thin, ribbons, whatever, my hair is pretty basic.  These are pretty cool, though.  I’ve been using them all week and they really don’t leave a kink in your hair.  Also, you only have to wrap them around a couple of time for a tight hold.  WHERE WERE THESE during 4th period gym class??

For $15 I feel like I just made out.  Subscriptions are available (here).  Share this with someone who’s looking to stock their beauty shelves, someone who travels all of the time, or someone who likes little mini things!  Come back tomorrow for my photo journal!

All The Best,

E-SIG

9 thoughts on “Allure Beauty Box: First Impressions

    1. That’s my favorite part! Honestly, I was so sick of spending even $10 on subscription services that sent me products from 1,000 different obscure brands which I know nothing about. I’d rather pay a few extra dollars for quality samples.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. No, I never noticed anything like that although the website does recommend removing it slowly. My hair is straight and silky (a little too silky if you ask me, but I shouldn’t complain) so there’s not much to get caught. I could see how girls with curly hair may have a problem if they try to use it for a bun, though. I only have to wrap it around two times, though, so that makes things easier!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

