New MAC Dazzleshadows Review & Swatches

We’re not mad, MAC, we’re just disappointed.  Like, really disappointed.  I love MAC for so many reasons: their causes, their collaborations, their industry-leading products, their affordability, I could go on.  But these Disastershadows, I mean Dazzleshadows are too much.  And not in a good way.  Here’s how I feel about them.

IMG_7343

IMG_7260

Here wearing “Say It Isn’t So” all over the lid and “Last Dance” in the inner corner.

They’re difficult to work with.  I have a pressed pigment by MAC that I love.  I never use an adhesive base with it, so I didn’t even think to use one with these.  Big mistake.  It was fall-out city all over my face.  So I used my Ingot Duraline.  That worked out fine but honestly, what a hassle.  It was really hard to build it to opacity.

They’re chunky and dry.  The glitter in these shadows are large and in charge.  If you’re expecting creamy and pigmented shadows, you’ll be disappointed.  Actually, considering they’re $20 each (here), you might also be mad.  I think the chunkiness may explain the fall out.  It even fell onto my liner after using the adhesive.  It was an altogether very messy situation.  The pressed pigments have a very slightly creamy base, whereas these are dry as dust and fall all over the place.

The colors are gorgeous.  Really.  MAC knows color, obviously.  The selection is so much better than the pressed pigments.  It makes me wish they would tweak the formula a little bit, because these could be wonderful.
IMG_7531

MAC Dazzleshadow in “Last Dance”

IMG_7528

MAC Dazzleshadow in “Say It Isn’t So”. 

I guess I was bound to find one MAC product I wasn’t crazy about.  Honestly, Nars Dual Intensity Shadows ($29), Colour Pop Super Shock Shadows ($5, review here), Makeup Geek Foiled Eyeshadows ($9.99, review here), and L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadows ($7.99) are all creamy, richly pigmented, and better options for dramatic looks.  Share this with someone who loves wet-looking’ eyes, thinks they were a Disney princess in a past life, or enjoys having glitter all over their cheeks despite using an adhesive!

All The Best,

E-SIG

6 thoughts on “New MAC Dazzleshadows Review & Swatches

  1. I must be one of the few people on Earth who doesn’t like MAC products. I love the L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadows too. I’m a real L’Oreal girl when it comes to eye shadow anyway, they always come out tops for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

