Photo Journal: Prague

When it comes to travel, the companionship is usually just as important as the destination.  Anyone who’s ever gone away with someone who insists on calling every single one of their ex boyfriends at 3 AM after a night out knows this is true.  Luckily, my dad doesn’t have any ex boyfriends and has been married to my mom for 25+ years, so I knew this wouldn’t be a problem when he invited me to Prague for the weekend.  My mother was originally supposed to join him during his trip, but she started a new job (you go, mama!) this month and didn’t want to leave.  Lucky for me I did want to leave 🙂 As far as travel companions go, it would be hard to find a better one.  He has a rare combination of savviness (that word looks so weird) and intellect.  It’s wonderful.  Thanks for picking him, mom.  My family tells me that I’m a lot like him all of the time.  They mean that I’m dorky and frumpy, but I take it as a compliment.  We had a blast together.  Please enjoy this week’s photo journal!

IMG_4327

I flew to Munich and we took a train together to Prague.

IMG_4260

IMG_4394

IMG_4407

Our train hit a tractor just as we crossed over the Czech border and we wound up stranded in this train station for hours.  I’ve never wanted a sandwich and a gossip magazine more than in those hours

.IMG_4430

Room service at 4 AM once we finally made it to the hotel.

IMG_4638

I love the reflection here.

IMG_4713

IMG_4637

IMG_4608

IMG_4600

IMG_4596

I’ve visited a lot of churches in Europe and this is the most beautiful stained glass I’ve ever seen.

IMG_4551

IMG_4526

IMG_4518

They have a mini Eiffel Tower on the highest point in the city called Petrin Tower.  Isn’t it cute!

IMG_4503

IMG_4495

IMG_4731

While most of the beautiful, historic cities in Europe were bombed during World War II, Prague was spared which makes it such an incredible experience.  It felt like walking through a movie set at some points because I’m just not used to being around such old buildings, especially in the U.S.

IMG_4804

IMG_4818

IMG_4840

IMG_5003

IMG_5015

IMG_5135

I don’t remember what this was called but it was basically dill soup.  It tasted like pickles and mushrooms.

IMG_5137

Beef goulash and bread dumplings.  My father and I were begging for salads after this weekend was over.

IMG_5143

IMG_5167

IMG_5181

IMG_5372

IMG_5404

IMG_5451

IMG_5494

IMG_5498

Did you know the Czech Republic consumes more beer per capita than any other country?  I didn’t either.  What about Germany?  I don’t know.

IMG_5514

Longest escalator ride ever.  Their public transportation system is quite nice, though!

IMG_5559

IMG_5587

IMG_5599

IMG_5621

IMG_5653

IMG_5738

I know that was a lot of pictures.  I’m like the person who sits you down to show you 300 photos of them drinking a frozen margarita on a beach in Mexico, aren’t I?  Hope you’ve enjoyed!  Share this with someone you think would make a good travel companion or someone who likes old churches!  For previous photo journals, click here!

All The Best,

E-SIG

3 thoughts on “Photo Journal: Prague

Leave a Reply

