Fourth of July Haul & First Impressions ft. Jaclyn Hill x Becca, Red Cherry, and Tan Towel


Is there a better way to celebrate our country’s independence than buying a bunch of stuff?  Idk, let me know.  (Just kidding).  I do love a sale, though, and Ulta’s 40% off on drugstore brands had me a lil excited.  These will probably all be reviewed in the future so

IMG_3941

IMG_3886
Jaclyn Hill x Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Champagne Pop

1  Nyx Cosmetics Eye & Lip Makeup Remover, $3.49.  I repurchased this to use for spot cleaning my brushes.  It has fragrance in it, so I don’t use it on my skin, but it’s inexpensive and convenient to have around.

2  L’Oreal True Match Lumi Powder Glow Illuminator in Golden, $12.99.  I bought this because I’ve been trying to find some good drug store highlights.  Based on a few swatches so far, this isn’t one of them.  I noticed a lot of chunky glitter and chalkiness so far.  Womp.

3  Innogie Portable Charger, $11.99.  I spent $90 on a charging case when I had an iPhone 5.  I didn’t exactly use it as much as I thought it would, though it did come in handy in certain situations like traveling.  Rather than repurchasing a Mophie for my iPhone 6, I got this lipstick-sized energy bank.  Because it doesn’t plug directly into the phone, I can use it for all of my devices and it’s a fraction of the cost of the charging case.  I can’t wait to use this when I go to Europe in a few days!

4  Tan Towel Endless Tan Classic Kit, $20.  I ordered this on Haute Look a few weeks ago because I wanted to try out a few different self tanning brands.  This set has both the towels and the mist, so I’m able to try out different applications.  My friend (who’s complexion is milkier than actual milk) tried the towels and liked them, so I have high hopes.  I think it was less than $15.

5  Physicians Formula Shimmer Strip in Miami, $12.99.  I’ve heard more than a couple of people rave about this highlighter, and from what I’ve swatched I’m impressed.  I like that it has a few different shades so it’s very customizable.

6  Maybelline Color Blur in “My-My Magenta” and “Plum, Please”, $8.99.  I like the idea of finding a good, creamy matte lipstick at the drugstore, so I thought I would give these a try.  They even come with a smudger, which is interesting.  If you’re interested in these, keep your eyes out for a review next week.

7  Nyx Cosmetics Illuminator in Ritualistic, $8.99.  (There are two #7’s, just go with it)  In case you haven’t caught on, I bought a bunch of drugstore highlighters.  This is one of them.  I have a feeling it’s the wrong shade for me, but we shall see!

7  Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector, $38.  I don’t actually own any of Becca/s pressed highlighters, so I figured this would be a good one to buy first.  It’s a beautiful champagne-gold color and the quality is amazing.  It blends out so nicely.  It’s also not glittery, yay!

8  Red Cherry Lashes #415 (Pack of 6), $19.99.  I love a wispy lash and now I have 6 pairs!

9  Nyx Liquid Illuminator in Gleam, $7.49.  I bought this in Sun Beam (the pinker version) once when I went to Miami without my makeup and had to buy a few stand-ins.  I didn’t really like it.  I’m hoping the warmer version will be more my style.

10  Revlon PhotoReady Skinlights Face Illuminator, $13.99.  First of all, that’s a lot of money!  This highlight is supposedly very sheer, though, so I’m thinking it’s perfect to mix with foundation.  I’ll be trying it out in the next couple of days and let you know in a “Drugstore Highlighters” post soon!

11  L’Oreal Lumi Liquid Glow Illuminator, $12.99.  This is a new product from L’Oreal and since I’m in search of good drugstore highlighting products, I figured I’d give this a try.  I’m sure it’s a repackaged version of their Lumi Primer (which I reviewed here) but this one is gold so it should work better for my skin tone.  It swatched really nicely on my hand, but I have to say I’m already disappointed with the price and size.  $13 for .67 fluid ounces isn’t exactly a steal, especially considering that it seems pretty sheer.  Check back for that post about the highlighters, we’ll see about this.
Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 9.46.02 PM

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 9.46.04 PM

Stewie knows the deal.

All The Best,

E-SIG

7 thoughts on “Fourth of July Haul & First Impressions ft. Jaclyn Hill x Becca, Red Cherry, and Tan Towel

  1. I just received my Becca X Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop in the mail yesterday. So beautiful and totally worth the money!! I also had never purchased any of the Becca highlights before! I think this was a good one to start a now addiction! 🙂 -H

    Like

  2. Haha LOVE Stewie! 😛
    Revlon and L’Oreal prices are kind of out of control… I can’t justify paying that kind of price so I only buy on sale!
    Very interested in seeing swatches / review of that Becca x Jaclyn Hill highlighter – there’s so much buzz about that.
    It’s funny, stores will literally use ANY excuse to have a sale, sometimes it’s a bit cringey…

    Like

  3. I’m very curious about your thoughts on the loreal liquid high light, I’m also on the hunt for an amazing highlighter. I just ordered my Jaclyn hill one! I’m really excited about it. I’m not sure if your as fair skinned as I am but I got my liquid loreal in golden and it’s a bit dark I think. I wish I would have got the lightest pink shade they had. I can’t wait for your highlight post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

