5 Popular Mascaras Actually Swatched on my Lashes

Mascara is confusing.  You’d think it’s simple, but it’s actually not.  Like, why do my lashes never look like the ads? Why does my best friend love this mascara but I hate it?  Did I really just spend $25 on this? As far as why your lashes never look like they do in ads, the tricky bastards use false eyelashes in their ads.  That’s why.  But I’m here to help.  I applied two coats of five different popular mascaras to my own uncurled lashes in order to give you guys an accurate representation of how each product performs.  Please enjoy! (Really, because it was pretty annoying to apply then remove two coats of mascara five separate times.)

lashes
For reference: my lashes without any mascara. I also think I look a little scared here, but don’t worry I wasn’t.
Rimmel ScandalEyes Kate Mascara Wand
Rimmel ScandalEyes Kate Mascara Wand
rimmel scandaleyes kate moss mascara
Rimmel ScandalEyes Mascara by Kate Moss, $6.99
This is a very messy mascara. I think the bristles may be a little too long, because I always get this on my lids. It’s also nothing spectacular, as you can see.  It can be a little clumpy and doesn’t layer well.
Diorshow Wand
Diorshow Mascara Wand
dior show mascara
Diorshow Mascara, $27.50
Though pricey, this has been a favorite of mine for years. It’s not always the most dramatic mascara (although it can be layered a lot), but it’s perfect for daytime and I never worry about clumping.  Though it doesn’t thicken the lashes the way I’d like, I love how separated and long they look.  My eyes always feel a little extra open when I wear this mascara.
Urban Decay Perversion Wand
Urban Decay Perversion Wand
Urban Decay Perversion Mascara
Urban Decay Perversion Mascara, $22
This mascara’s kind of a bummer.  I love Urban Decay’s products and I thought they’d make an awesome mascara, but this just doesn’t do it for me.  It doesn’t separate the lashes as well as I’d like and it doesn’t really thicken them either.
Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara
Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara Wand
Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara
Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara, $8.99
This may be my new favorite drugstore mascara. I don’t typically like rubber wands with so few bristles, but this one surprised me. I tried it based on a recommendation from someone I was chatting with on Facebook (heeeey!) and I’m happy I did. This defines the lashes really well while lengthening and thickening.  Even though they have very different wands, it performs a lot like Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Lashes which is more than double the price.
benefit roller lash mascara wand
Benefit Roller Lash Mascara Wand
roller lash benefit
Benefit Roller Lash Mascara, $24
After so much publicizing, I was really let down by this mascara.  It’s supposed to curl and lift the lashes, but as you can see there’s very little curling going on here.  My lashes aren’t even difficult to curl, so this was surprising.  As far as defining and thickening, this isn’t so special either.  I love Benefit’s They’re Real mascara, so I think I’ll stick to that one.
IMG_6571
Even Tina from Bob’s Burgers knows what a pain mascara can be. GIF courtesy of Elisha Burks who probably got it from Tumblr.

Pro Tip:  I hardly ever buy mascara.  Instead, when I order online from Sephora I use my points or the codes they send in emails for sample sizes.  You’d be surprised how long the small ones last and it’s a sample you’ll actually use.

I hope you guys found this helpful.  If you did, share it on your Facebook and Twitter so you can help your gal pals out.  Because friends don’t let friends walk around with creepy crawly lashes.  Unless that’s your thing.  Keep your eyes out for part two, coming next week and June favorites tomorrow!

All The Best,

E-SIG

12 thoughts on “5 Popular Mascaras Actually Swatched on my Lashes

  1. That’s interesting that you were so disappointed with the Roller Lash, you hear so many people raving about it! Good to know those who were less impressed with it though!

    Like

  2. Ha – When I read the subject line all I was thinking was, “that sounds like it took a long time to do!” 🙂 But thanks for the effort – very helpful! (I’m totally with you on the samples, too. You have to get new ones so often that it makes a TON of sense!)

    Like

  3. LOVE the Bob’s Burger gif!
    Also, I tell everyone to use the mascara sample sizes! I use the Clinque High Impact Mascara sample size only. The full size always made my lashes clumpy! I love the Maybelline mascara! Bless your heart for putting on and taking off mascara five times in one day.

    Like

  4. Found this very helpful as well. However, I have used UD Perversion. When I first used it I thought it was too “wet” and found it worked its magic when I wiped the excess off. Many people complimented my lashes . So although it’s annoying it was worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

