Allure Sample Society: My First Impressions

I think it’s kind of annoying that Ipsy figures I’ll find it adorable that their package is delivered in a hot pink bubble wrap pouch.  I’m a sophisticated mama (no kids though) and I like to be treated as one.  So, when I found out that Allure Magazine partnered with BeautyBar.com to create a subscription service (this has been around for years I was just late to the party) I thought it might be more my style.  I was right.  I’m really happy with what I got, let’s take a look. IMG_8787

IMG_8809 1  E.L.F. Small Stipple Brush.  I own about four of these now and I love them.  This brush is only $3 and it’s a dream if you’re working with cream or liquid products (or Colour Pop).  There’s nothing like a stippling brush for an airbrushed finish and this one is both dense and precise.  For a full list of my favorite E.L.F. brushes, click here! $3 2  eSalon Perfect Ending Leave In Conditioner.   If you’re wondering, eSalon is exactly what it sounds like.  You fill out a profile, speak on the phone to a consultant, and they send you a formula for hair color that you then apply yourself.  What a world we live in (in which we live?).  A little extra leave in conditioner never hurts, especially since summer activities can be so drying on the hair.  The formula is really lightweight, so I’m excited to try it. 3  Lauren B Beauty Nail Couture in Polo Lounge Punch.  I hate to be the person talking about pretty packaging, but they really did a nice job on this.  The square top is really easy to handle.  The color is vibrant, but not too loud.  It reminds me of Essie’s “Big Spender”, which I also love (check out their summer collection here).  Plus it’s 5 Free (doesn’t contain Formaldehyde, DBP, Toluene, Formaldehyde Resin, or Camphor).  This bottle costs $18, which automatically makes the $15 worth the price.  I’m wearing it in the featured image if you want to squint (not recommended, wrinkles). 4  Cotz Face Sunscreen SPF 40.  This is probably my least favorite sample.  I’m definitely into tinted sunscreens, especially for darker skinned ladies, but I also really love my La Roche-Posay Tinted Sunscreen Fluid (read more here).  The tint in the Cotz formula is unnoticeable once it sinks in, while the LRP sunscreen actually evens out my skin tone. 5  St. Tropez Self Tan Express.  I’ve used St. Tropez self-tanning products in the past and liked them, so I have high hopes for this mousse.  What’s interesting about this one is that it only needs 1-3 hours on your skin, depending on how dark you want to go.  Then, you shower and your tan develops over the next 8 hours.  I want to be darker by the time dinner is over so yes, count me in. This box also came with Completely Bare wax strips in two different sizes.  So far, I’m really happy with this subscription service.  Even though it’s a few dollars more than Birchbox or Ipsy, the quality of products is higher in my opinion.  They don’t have any memberships available at the moment, but you can find more information here.  How were your beauty boxes this month?  Let me know! All The Best, E-SIG

4 thoughts on “Allure Sample Society: My First Impressions

  1. Ugh! I tried to get on this list, and as you said they don’t have any spots right now. I’m loving my Glossybox this month! It had the Too Faced better than sex mascara which was on my list of things to try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

