5 High End Primers to Try

I wish we could find a better word for primers.  When I imagine the word “primer” I think of the time the heat broke in my apartment during a polar vortex and my psycho landlord casually fixed it five whole days later.  I didn’t stay in that apartment long after and had to paint over the beautiful deep blue wall I had going on in my bedroom when I moved.  Needless to say, I don’t like the whole paint association thing, but the makeup version does actually act very similarly.  It should act as a barrier between your skin’s natural oils and your foundation.  It should also create a beautiful, clean canvas for your makeup.  Here’s the lowdown on some of the more popular ones.

IMG_7430

IMG_7488

Bare Minerals Porefessional, $31

Pros:

  • dries down completely matte therefore..
  • good to wear on its own without makeup
  • tinted to even-out complexion
  • fills in fine lines in order to minimize creasing

Cons:

  • contains fragrance
  • a bit expensive
  • doesn’t do too much to extend the wear of makeup

Application Tip:  Don’t apply too much, you won’t see any benefit.  In fact, you’ll notice the product begin to crumble.

IMG_7535

IMG_7497

Hourglass Mineral Veil, $52

Pros:

  • does seem to keep foundation on your face
  • contains SPF 15
  • has a matte finish (good for those with oily skin)
  • you don’t need a lot of product, bottle should last a long time
  • good for people who don’t react well to products with a heavy silicone content, this has a slightly thicker consistency than water.

Cons:

  • expensive!
  • leaves a terrible white cast on my skin (which is one of the biggest cons of them all to me – I will probably return this).  My skin looks two shades lighter with this on underneath.

IMG_7542

Bare Minerals Prime Time, $24

Pros:

  • feels good on dry skin
  • spreads easily and evenly
  • feels very light on the skin
  • has the same silicone-type of feel as The Porefessional, blurs the looks of pores and lines

Cons:

  • it can accentuate oily spots and does nothing to mattify (for oily skin you may want to try the one for oil control here which I haven’t tried)

IMG_7438

Charlotte Tilbury Wonderglow Instant Soft-Focus Beauty Flash, $55

Pros:

  • gives your skin a natural, luminous finish (similar to Laura Mercier’s “Radiance” primer)
  • good for dry skin
  • can be used for many different purposes (see my post about liquid highlighters plus a full review of this product here)

Cons:

  • doesn’t extend life of makeup (I mean, it doesn’t claim to either)
  • expensive

You make be asking what happened to the Laura Mercier primers.  You may also just be happy you made it through this post.  If you’re the person who’s wondering about ol’ Laura’s millions of primers, I’ll be happy to help you out!  In order to keep this post under control, I decided to review them in a separate, bonus post on Saturday.  So check back for that and visit tomorrow for some tips on how to make your own exfoliating scrub!  For a comparison of Smashbox’s Photo Finish Primer and Nyx’s Photo Loving Primer click here!

All The Best,

E-SIG

5 thoughts on “5 High End Primers to Try

  1. I have the benefit one…it feels amazing but I feel like it makes me so oily as the day goes on!! I still use it because I keep hoping it gets better but so far no luck 😦

    Like

  2. I didn’t like the Hourglass Mineral Veil either – I felt like it made my skin look worse than without it.
    Looking forward to reading about the Laura Mercier primers… I hope they’re good if they warrant a separate post!

    Like

  3. Great post as always! Just curious as to how you and Ravishing Roses know each other? I’ve noticed you both mention each other on your blogs, and you’re both my favourite beauty bloggers! Also, how good is Prime Time haha I love it! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

