Nyx Cosmetics Favorites

Don’t you feel like a lot of drugstore brands keep getting more and more expensive (hello $13 Garnier BB Cream)?  I do.  You can’t buy a Maybelline lipstick from Ulta for less than $7 and a lot of foundations are over $10.  The one company that hasn’t let me down with price increases, though, is Nyx.  They have a truly fabulous range of products, many of which compete with their high end counterparts in my opinion.  Their color selection is fantastic, they keep up with the trends, and each product is around $5.  Let’s check out some of the best Nyx products that I’ve tried.
IMG_5218

1  Jumbo Eye Pencil, $4.49.  This eye pencil is truly amazing, especially considering the price.  It can be used as eyeshadow or eyeliner, though I find it does crease a bit on my lids so I usually set it with powder.  You can always use translucent powder in order to avoid interference with color.  It’s awesome as a base for eyeshadow though.  You can use white or black in order to make your color pay off more intense.  Around Halloween these things were amazing (see skeleton below).  A multi-use product that’s less than $5 and comes in colors like “rust”, “lavender”, and “cobalt blue” is right up my alley.

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 10.04.04 PM

I used the black and white Jumbo Eye Pencils, q-tips to blend, and setting powder for this look.

500x500

Here I used the Sparkle Green Jumbo Eye pencil and Nyx’s Liquid Crystal Liner in Crystal Champagne (here) which is another favorite of mine.

2  Nyx Cream Blush, $6.99.   This is pretty much everything you would want in a cream blush.  Blendable, smooth consistency, long wearing, and affordable.  If you’re a 10 minutes or less kind of makeup wearer, you may want to reconsider this though.  This looks best when it’s nicely blended, which takes a little more time than your typical powder blush.  Application Note:  Building color gradually will help a lot with blending.  If you have this product and found it hard to blend, try it again but start very slowly!  Using your fingers may also help the blending process because the heat from your fingers make the product spread easier.

3  Nyx Butter Lip Balm, $3.99.  Want to feign health and happiness midday when what you really want is a nap?  Try adding some color to your face with this lip balm.  It’s a low-commitment way to wear a colored lip (meaning you won’t have to check yourself out in the reflection of your knife at dinner for fear that your lipstick has feathered or faded).  It also feels delightful on the lips, which helps!

4  Nyx Slim Lip Pencil, $3.49.  I have Chanel lip liners, I have MAC lip liners, and honestly, these are my go-to lip pencils.  I often use them under other lip products and they do the job just fine.  They’re not quite as dry as some of the MAC pencils, which is a good thing for most, and they go on smoothly.  Plus, by the way, they’re less than $4 each.  If you go through lip pencils quickly, these are definitely something to consider.

5  Nyx Prismatic Eye Shadow, $6.  This is a foiled shadow that doesn’t require primer and stays put (for the most part, I do usually notice a tiny bit of fallout).  For a night out, these are a lot of fun.  Since most of us won’t wear such intense colors regularly, these $6 shadows are a great way to play with color without sacrificing pigmentation or a lot of cash.

6  Nyx Intense Butter Gloss, $5.99.  The intensely pigmented gloss trend hit us hard this year, and Nyx produced quite a contender with this one.  Smooth, intense, and long lasting, I understand why many people swear by this.  They’re perfect for day and night and you don’t need any additional products to complete the look.  For more, read my review on them here.

7  Nyx Soft Matte Lip cream, $5.99.  If you’re running out the door and don’t want to take your lipstick with you for touch ups, this is for you.  One application lasts forever and (if you have a steady hand) no lip liner is required.  The colors are also very vibrant.  They do dry to a completely matte finish, so keep that in mind if that’s not your thing.  Also, make sure you’ve exfoliated because patchy lips are weird.

Honorable mentioned goes to you, Nyx Eyebrow Shaper, which is basically a wax pencil meant to keep your brows in place.  You’re real cool, I just had to draw a line somewhere and that line is 700 words.  Let me know which of these you’ve tried and liked!  When I was collecting makeup for this write-up I wound up with over 10 items, which tells you how much I appreciate this brand.

Let’s follow each other on BlogLovin’ (here) and stay tuned for tomorrow’s Photo Journal!

All The Best,

E-SIG

20 thoughts on “Nyx Cosmetics Favorites

  1. I’m actually typing up a review of the NYX setting spray right now! NYX is a great alternative to some of the other drugstore brands that I feel are just continually upping their prices. The jumbo eye pencil and the cream blushes are my favorites from them! You can’t go wrong with either.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your favorites! I’ve been wanting to grab a few NYX products lately and now I at least have a reference of things to look for! 🙂 Your eye makeup looks fantastic by the way. 🙂

    Like

    1. Right? Especially in Manhattan, sometimes I see these prices and I’m bummed. The Maybelline eye studio gel liner is only a few dollars cheaper than MAC’s gel liner, which seems so strange to me. It’s good some companies are able to maintain their low prices, E.L.F. has a few great products as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

