May Hair, Skin & Makeup Favorites


IMG_3122May is the best month of the year and these are the best things I’ve used this month.  It’s that simple!  School ends in May, the sun comes out/stays out, you can start wearing the spring clothes you bought in March, and you get a chance to rethink your makeup routine.  I’ve definitely been embracing the bronzed and dewy look lately so I thought I would share some of the products that have been helping me out.

1  Colour Pop Super Shock in Wisp, $8.  Colour Pop released their highlighters in April and I haven’t used any others since.  I’m loving the warm glow Wisp gives me right now and I also swipe it across my lids for light makeup days/nights.  For a full review, click here!

2  MAC Studio Sculpt Foundation, $32.  I’ve been looking for a fragrance-free dupe for Make Up For Ever’s HD Invisible foundation and revisiting this foundation has ended my search.  This foundation feels and looks very light on the face while still offering medium buildable coverage.  It gives skin a luminous look and is great for dry skin.  SPF 15 is the cherry on top to this fantastic foundation.

3  Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation in Sun Beige, $9.99.  I’ve never used this all over my face (can you imagine this NW25 face wearing a shade called “Sun Beige”?) but I have been using it for some sculpting around my face.  It’s a thin foundation which blends well with my all-over foundation and is slightly cool toned.  A lot of contouring products are heavy and totally mask the skin.  I hate that.  This is a wonderful solution.

4  Kenra Professional Daily Provision, $15.  Since I went a little lighter, I’ve been obsessed with keeping the color from fading.  I wouldn’t look good as a blonde, I know it!  So, I’ve been shampooing less which means I’m also trying to condition less.  Every conditioner I’ve used either weighs down my hair or isn’t nourishing enough.  Now, I use a weekly hair mask and spray this on after showers in between.  It doesn’t make my hair heavy or greasy, and it protects from UV rays which means less fading.  Awesome.

What happened to #5 you may ask?  I have no idea.  Let’s keep it moving.

6 YSL Rouge Volupte in Opera Rose, $36.  For summer we all want a lighter formula for lips.  This bright pink looks surprisingly soft on my face and it’s great for day time.  I’m honestly not usually out and about with even foundation on my face, so I’m not going to say I use this every day, but you definitely could.  I know it.

Urban Decay Electric Pressed Pigment Palette, $49.  This is easily in my top three favorite eyeshadow palettes.  The quality of shadows and pigmentation are unlike anything else in my collection, and the shades are incredibly unique.  This palette is perfect for adding pops of color to your face.

Nars Multiple in South Beach, $39.  The British street artist Hush (check out his work here) asked to paint a coworker and I last summer as part of a series about women around the world.  The makeup artist used this on my cheeks and I was into it immediately.  I finally got around to purchasing it during the last VIB sale and it looks beautiful on the cheeks and eyelids.

Vita Liberata pHenomenal 2-3 Week Tan Mousse, $54.  I got this as a point perk from Sephora, so I only just realized that a bottle of this costs $54, which is kind of steep.  I haven’t had it on long enough to test its staying power, but it’s still a favorite and I’ll tell you why.  This stuff dries incredibly quickly.  There’s virtually no sticky, tacky feeling after absorption which makes this perfect before a night out.  It hasn’t stained my clothes and is considerably low in odor compared to other self tanners I’ve tried.  This actually bums me out because, like a weirdo, I love that smell.  It’s still there, but it’s not overwhelming.  I’m happy to have this for summer, especially for nights when I want a little glow, or days when I’m going to be in a bikini.

10 MAC Retro Matte Lipstick in Relentlessly Red, $16.  This is hands down my favorite formula, ever.  People hate its dry texture and I actually want it drier.  If you know of something similar to clay that I can use to color my lips, please let me know.  This shade is a watermelon red, unlike anything I have, and I’m loving it (I’m also wearing it in the featured image).  The artist who helped me in the store told me they were coming out with a lot of new colors in the retro mattes.  If she was messing with me I’d be so bummed.

11 MAC Eye Kohl in Costa Riche, $16.  This doesn’t look like much at first glance, but for brown eyes this is incredible.  The warm reddish brown color brings out the green in my eyes unlike anything else.  It’s great for day time when black is too heavy and also looks great against black mascara.

I tried not to go into too much detail in an effort to keep this post under twelve thousand words, so if you have any questions ask me in the comments.  I love to chat!  Also, let’s follow each other on Bloglovin‘ so I’m not so darn lonely over there!  Keep an eye out for a post about how to work sunscreen in your beauty routine tomorrow.

All The Best,

E-SIG

11 thoughts on “May Hair, Skin & Makeup Favorites

  1. Finneeee – jumping on the Kenra train. I try to use as little product as possible, especially living in Denver where it’s incredibly dry. But I’ve heard such great reviews of daily provision! Count me in!

    Like

  2. That’s a great idea to use a lightweight foundation as your contour! I’m completely mesmerized by all of Colourpop’s highlighters – looks amazing and so reasonably priced! Great list of favourites – a nice blend of high end and drugstore products.

    Like

Leave a Reply

