Makeup Purge: What I’m Getting Rid Of & Why

It is spring cleaning time and while I’ve been prancing around in sweatpants trying to tidy up my digs, I’ve also collected some less than stellar or simply unnecessary items in my vanity.  Thanks to some “meh” items from Ipsy bags and Birchboxes (I don’t want your crappy body lotions, Ipsy, enough!) I have quite a stash that I’ll be sharing with my friends and sisters.  Here are just some of them.
IMG_2429
1 Charlotte Tilbury Magic Cream.  This stuff is heavy on the face and seriously fragranced, two things both my skin and I hate.  You can read more about this and more of her products if you’d like (here).

2 Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer.  I already have MAC’s Prep & Prime which is a better shade for me anyway.  My sister likes this stuff, though, so happy Thursday Amanda!  If you’re looking for a drugstore concealer, you can check out my rundown for more ideas (here).

3 Essie Matte Cashmere Polish in Wrap Me Up.  I bought this to bring on my trip to Europe, thinking that since it was matte I could skip the topcoat and only need to bring this bottle.  I don’t know how anyway can stand this matte nail polish business, though.  It felt like I had mini chalkboards on my nails.  I got chills just running my fingers over it.  Then, I tried to just put a top coat on and make it glossy, but that didn’t even work.  The polish just kept absorbing, it felt like the Twilight Zone.  Anyway, my other little sister is an Essie freak so hopefully she’ll have better luck with this.

4 Stila Custom Color Blush in “Self Adjusting Bronze”.  I got this in Stila’s Here Comes the Sun bronzing set, which had some real gems.  The Goddess Eyeshadow Trio was pretty much all I used while in Europe.  This stuff, however, looked very terra-cotta on me.  It’s supposed to adjust to your body’s chemistry to find the right shade for you.  I wish its self would adjust to me as a less warm bronzer, but I guess my pH wants me to be orange.  Or something.  The powder is really soft and fine though, so I’m hoping this will be a beautiful shade on someone.

5 & 6 Tarte Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder & MUFE’s HD Powder.  Laura Mercier’s and Hourglass’s finishing powders are my absolutely favorites, so I really have no need for either of these.  I never set my whole face anyway, just under my eyes, so I’m definitely set.  I got each of these in a Sephora value set (I love them) and I’ve been meaning to give them away for a while.

7 Pacifica Shadow in Ethereal.  This is actually not a bad shade or shadow.  It’s just that I have enough shades like these in different palettes so this random, single shadow never gets used.

8 L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Iced Latte.  WHAT was I thinking buying a shade called “Iced Latte”?  If you know me (friendship test time!) you’ll know that I hate frosty anything on the face.  Gross.  I like this formula but it’s not happening.

9 & 11 Pixi Eyshadow in Brightening Bare & Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Sin.  Like the Pacifica shadow, I got both of these in subscription boxes.  Since I have the Naked 3 palette, though, I have little use for more single shadows in sparkly pinks.

10 Tarte Cheek Stain in Muse.  The formula of this never blew me away (I prefer Maybelline’s blush stick and the Nars Multiple) and the shade isn’t the most flattering on me anyway, so that’s that.

12 Maybelline The Nudes Palette.  I already talked about how disappointing this product was (here) but let me remind you:  I think you’re better off with a couple of single shadows that you like, or saving your money for better quality.  I just don’t think it’s worth the money.

13 Maybelline Master Highlight Blush in Pink Rose.  If this didn’t have the white triangles, I would really like this blush.  Sadly, though, it reads as very (I’ll say it again but only one more time) frosty on the cheeks.  I’m sure this doesn’t bother everyone and it will work with some skin tones, but I definitely won’t be putting it on my face anytime soon.  (Read more about this collection here.)

So I’m really interested in what people have tried and didn’t like.  Please let me know in the comments and satisfy my nosy side!

All The Best,

E-SIG

15 thoughts on “Makeup Purge: What I’m Getting Rid Of & Why

    1. HAHA when I first read that I was like… you’re not going to wear eyeshadow any more!? I thought about maybe depotting my singles and putting them in huge z-palette but spending another $30 to make eyeshadows I already don’t use more convenient doesn’t make any sense. The singles are great for people who aren’t psychotic about makeup, though, like maybe some of us are 🙂

      Like

  1. Ugh, I need to do this in my life. Especially with this Tarte eye pallet I have. I want to love it…but I just don’t 😦 Great Post!

    Like

  2. Very interesting post! I should probably do a makeup purge myself…

    To answer your question, everyone in the world seems to love Benefit’s They’re Real mascara, but I HATE it. With a fiery passion. Maybe my eyelashes just aren’t compatible, but it does not work for me at all!

    https://southbynorthwestblog.wordpress.com/

    Like

  3. I need to do this badly! It’s so freeing, isn’t it? I used to do it twice a year and I’m behind.
    Oooh I quite like the Maybelline Dream Lumi – it’s pretty good for a drugstore option.
    Glad you talked about the frostiness of the Maybelline Master Highlight blush – I was really toying with buying one but I can’t handle high frost on my cheeks.
    Great job on purging!

    Like

    1. Yes and this was we can focus more on the products we really love!
      Yeah, there’s definitely nothing wrong with the Dream Lumi, I just don’t really use it and I know my little sister (college student) would definitely get more use 🙂 I wish I have an older sister to give me makeup!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I definitely need to do a purge myself. I have the Tarte powder in pressed form and I really never use it. But it’s so unused I can’t bring myself to toss it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

