Edinburgh Castle & Princes Street Gardens, Scotland

After flying from New York to Scotland (with Heathrow in between) all I really wanted to do was order room service and take a bath all afternoon.  I always want to do this, but that day I really did.  Instead, I taped my eyes open and walked over to Edinburgh castle and boy, was I glad I did.

IMG_3854

IMG_3856A church next to Princes Street Gardens

IMG_3865

IMG_3855

IMG_3861It was built on volcanic rock and dates back to at least 600 AD.  Very old and very beautiful.

IMG_3866

IMG_3869Fountain at Princes Street Gardens

IMG_3875

IMG_3870

IMG_3878View from below the castleIMG_3879Side view of the castleIMG_3881Entrance to the castle

IMG_3884

IMG_3885

IMG_3886

IMG_3889The Mons Meg, one of the largest cannons in the world.  It weighs six tons and is over 500 years old.  That’s pretty much all I know about it, but it’s apparently a very famous cannon.IMG_3890

IMG_1689The view of the castle from Princes StreetIMG_1688You go, Jessica Susan Pacey!  This is the coolest wedding gift I’ve seen, a bench on Princes Street.IMG_1666

IMG_3888

IMG_1659Beautiful Scottish Tartans everywhereIMG_1664

IMG_1670

IMG_1674A panorama taken on my phone

IMG_1680

I only made it there about an hour before closing (and only spent about 16 hours in Scotland in total) but I’m so happy I was able to rush there and enjoy the view.  I’m in Monaco at the moment then onto Paris next so keep an eye out for more travel posts!

All The Best,

E-SIG

9 thoughts on “Edinburgh Castle & Princes Street Gardens, Scotland

  1. Brings back memories – I’ve been to Edinburgh twice now and enjoyed it both times! Great pictures – so envious that you’re in Monaco now! Can’t wait to see pictures from there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

