NYX High Voltage Lipstick

IMG_2985When you think of a high voltage lipstick, do you think “creamy”?  I don’t, so I think that’s an odd choice of name for this lipstick.  I love NYX lip products; the Intense Butter Gloss, Soft Matte Lip Cream, and Slim Lip Pencil are some of my favorite options for drugstore lips.  When I realized I had never tried this lipstick, I picked it right up (available here for $5.99).  The verdict?  It’s fine.

Pigmentation.  For such a thin formula, this stuff is definitely pigmented.  It’s not a one swipe type of thing, but the trade off here is comfort.  After a few layers it goes on opaque without feeling heavy on the lips.

Consistency.  So light and comfortable on the lips.  Before looking closely in the mirror, I was hopeful this would be a dupe for YSL’s Rouge Volupte lipstick (so beautiful, so expensive).  I was disappointed to see that this is a bit streaky.  I tried applying it all over, blotting with my fingers, then reapplying and blotting again to make it work, and it came out okay.

Wear Time.  The wear time here is nothing special.  Luckily these tubes are thin so it’s not difficult to throw in your bag before going out.

If you’re really finicky about heavy lipsticks, this hydrating but streaky lipstick is perfect for you.  If not, you’re better off using a lipstick you already own and like and adding a moisturizing balm on top.

IMG_2458

IMG_1434

Here wearing Mirage, which I hate on me.

What are some other lightweight, hydrating lip products out there?  I think products like this are great for summer to compliment softer eye looks.  Share some products with me in the comments!

All The Best,

E-SIG

7 thoughts on “NYX High Voltage Lipstick

  1. Yikes, I heard such great things about this lipstick, but it sounds like a chapped lips’ nightmare! I also typically dislike thin but super pigmented lipsticks because, even when my lips are not chapped, they still accentuate my lips lines 😦 Sighh

    Like

    1. I totally agree! It’s worth a little bit of extra thickness to avoid accentuating the fine lines on your lips in situations like these. Especially if you have chapped lips (and to be honest, my lips are probably never as hydrated as they could be). Thanks for reading, Nadine! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

