Urban Decay Summer 2015

IMG_3016I have such fond memories of running to the mall after school with my younger sister to get the limited edition Urban Decay palettes before they sold out back in high school.  I still think about their Alice in Wonderland palette from back in the day.  So, whenever they release something new I’m very excited to try it.  For summer, they re-packaged their primers, changed the formula for Sin, and added a new shade.  I need something mattifying for around my eyes, so I skipped these but the new single blushes and lip glosses are the real stars of this collection anyway so let’s check them out.

IMG_1607Here wearing Afterglow blush in Score, Revolution High Color lip gloss in Quiver, and Moondust eyeshadow in Scorpio.  In the featured image I’m wearing Moondust eyeshadow in Scorpio and Revolution High Color lip gloss in Quiver over Wet n Wild’s “Mauve Outta Here”.

IMG_3023

IMG_3031Revolution High-Color Lip Gloss in Quiver, $22 While the shade selection is fantastic, I was kind of disappointed in the pigmentation of this gloss.  I was expecting something similar to Nyx Intense Butter Gloss, but even after a few coats I could never get it quite that opaque.  The color does stay on your lips longer than most others and it doesn’t feel sticky on the lips, so I don’t regret trying this out.  Also, the applicator is great for precise lines.

IMG_3052Afterglow Blush in Score, $26.  It’s partially my fault for choosing something so close to Nars Orgasm (this isn’t as finely milled), but I wasn’t blown away by this.  I’m sure the matte shades don’t have the same problem, but for this shade the glitter (not shimmer but actual flecks of glitter) is more pronounced than the actual color.  I like to use blush to add color to cheeks and highlighter to add shine and glow: I don’t really want glitter all over my cheeks.  If the amount of color was more proportionate to the amount of glitter, this would be a gorgeous blush.  If you’re looking for glowy cheeks, I’d choose the Milani Baked Blushes (more about them here) for a fraction of the price.  Or, try a different shade.  I’m definitely going to give them another try.

IMG_3045Moondust Eyeshadow in Scorpio, $20.  This isn’t a part of their summer collection, but it is a new Moondust shade so I’m including it here.  This eyeshadow is incredibly beautiful and comes in some really amazing shades.  I recommend applying with your fingers, or wet on a synthetic brush.  Also, you should definitely use a base.  For the sake of this review, I applied once without a base and the glitter fall out was a little disappointing.  I mostly noticed this when I was applying my eyeliner.  Ideally, you would always be using a base anyway so this shouldn’t be too much of a problem.  Overall, this is a great, bold shadow option.

IMG_3053Ultimate Ozone, $16.  Urban Decay has turned their Ozone lip pencil (pictured above) into a jumbo-sized lip primer, which was a fantastic idea.  My friend first gave this to me at work when I was in need of a lip liner.  I didn’t believe this would actually keep my lip products from feathering, but it actually does that and more.  It’s creamier than expected, so you can use it to condition your lips before lip stick as well.  I usually apply lip balm before my lip products, but have to wipe most of it off in order to keep my lipstick from sliding off.   This formula is a nice combination of stiff and creamy, so I don’t have to worry about it interfering with my lipsticks’ performance like I would with a balm.

Have you tried any of Urban Decay’s new products lately?  I bought my little sister the Naked on the Run Palette for her birthday and thought it was perfect for a college freshman.  Let me know!

All The Best,

E-SIG

4 thoughts on “Urban Decay Summer 2015

Leave a Reply

