Sephora Sale: What I Bought & First Impressions

The Sephora Vib Sale happened mid April and it was like the flood gates had opened up.  I hadn’t purchased much from Sephora since I’ve been trying to find really affordable stuff for you guys, but I’m sure you’re also interested in the fancier stuff.  I can’t lie, I am.  So here’s to getting VIB Rouge again in 2016, because $1,000 is easily justified by receiving a mini lipstick and an extra 5% off, of course.
IMG_3014

1  Dry Bar Mai Tai Spritzer Sea Salt Spray, $25.   I’m going to do a review of hair texturizers soon, so that’s where you’ll find a full review.  So far, I’ve liked the way it makes my hair feel when sprayed on after it’s dried.

2  Living Proof Instant Texture Volumizer, $24.  I haven’t used this yet, but I love my Living Proof Full Conditioner, so I have high hopes.

3  Formula X The Match Nail Polish Set in Medium to Deep, $16.  I love that they selected colors specifically for skin tone in these sets.  My hands are definitely more medium in the summertime, but I really liked these colors more than the set for light to medium.

4  Nars Luminous Weightless Foundation, $48.  I’ve been looking for an alternative to my MUFE HD Invisible Foundation, which is my all-time favorite but has fragrance in it.  It doesn’t bother me upon application, but I’m worried it’s not helping my rosacea.  I first bought the YSL Fusion Ink foundation without realizing it is loaded with fragrance.  Talk about from the frying pan into the fryer.  I returned it the next day and an associate suggested I try this one.  I have to say, I don’t really like it at all.  It didn’t build to medium coverage well on my face, instead it looked very layered.  I’m not into it right now.

5  Stila Here Comes the Sun Set, $44.  I really like sets like these because I can use a variety of products from a brand at a more affordable price.  I don’t mind the smaller sizes because I don’t always make it through full size products anyway, plus they’re great for travel.  This set came with a smudge stick, lip gloss, eyeshadow, bronzer, and liquid highlighter.  The eyeshadow (next to the bronzer) is really, really pretty.

6  Urban Decay Afterglow Blush in Score, $26.  I bought this the same day Sephora announced they were carrying it.  It’s definitely similar to Nars Orgasm blush, but not quite as pretty.

7  Urban Decay Revolution High-Color Lip Gloss in Quiver, $22.  The shade selection is awesome and Quiver is just gorgeous.  For fully opaque color, you’ll definitely need two coats and a base color.

8  Nars Multiple in Maui, $39.  I had been wanting this for a while and I’m so glad I finally bought it.  I like that you can use it on lips, cheeks, and eyes.  The formula is also really lightweight and unique.

9  Urban Decay Moondust Shadow in Scorpio, $20.  These shades, again, are incredible.  Urban Decay really knows color.  Most of the Moondust shadows have a shift to them which are really cool.

10  Becca Ultimate Coverage Complexion Creme, $44.  I’m not usually into full coverage, but this one has a really creamy and lightweight texture.  I haven’t tried it yet, but even if I don’t like it for myself, I’m sure it will be great for photoshoots.

I also bought both of Kevyn Aucoin’s books since I had been planning to buy them from Amazon anyway.  My boxing trainer used to train Kevyn Aucoin in the 80’s so it’s like I practically knew him anyway, but it doesn’t hurt to learn a few things from a legend.

I love reading about what people chose during this sale, since it only happens twice a year.  Let me know about some of your favorite new products in the comments!

All The Best,

E-SIG

17 thoughts on “Sephora Sale: What I Bought & First Impressions

  1. Wow, this was certainly a haul! I bought the Becca Foundation months ago and have only used it twice. I’m not a full coverage kind of gal either so it’s not something that I reach for often. Great post😊

    Like

  2. I still don’t see the huge benefit between VIB Rouge and VIB – Rouges don’t get higher % off than VIB during the sale but they do get access to the sale earlier than everyone, I suppose.
    The items you got are fabulous (yes, we all want higher end stuff to supplement drugstore goodies!) I’m interested in that Becca foundation now!

    Like

  3. Wow, so jealous of all the stuff you bought! Seen that NARS Foundation all over the blogosphere at the moment, I think I’ll have to give it a try myself soon πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  4. That’s a shame about the Nars foundation! I’m trying it now and I really like how it goes on at first, but throughout the day it starts to emphasize my dry spots and crease

    Like

    1. I feel the same 😦 It’s such a shame, too, because I feel that Nars could do a really beautiful, luminous foundation potentially but I haven’t liked anything I’ve tried from them as far as foundations go 😦

      Like

  5. Hello! Your blog is SO lovely and I am definitely going to have to try out some of these beautiful products! I just started a fashion, beauty & lifestyle blog and would love if you would check it out! Kyra xx

    Like

  6. I really need to try that new nars foundation. I absolutely love sheer glow and would love to try more from them.
    I also have my own beauty blog, I’d lobe if you checked it out! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. I love seeing your haul! I got some excellent stuff in the VIB Rouge sale myself, including the Nars Multiple (in Portofino), YSL lipstick, and some Fresh face cream that I adore πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

