My Trip to Sri Lanka (again)

I ran out of tea.  Just kidding!  If you recall from this post I went to Sri Lanka to visit friends in March, who then invited me back for a long weekend trip they had planned.  It’s such a beautiful, calm place so of course I was all over that.  Here are some pictures from my trip to Tangalle, Sri Lanka!  Also, click here to see my travel style from this trip.

IMG_1976

Water Buffalo (or are they regular buffalo?) came to graze just below where we had breakfast.  I ran to get my camera and followed them to the beach.  They’re pretty fast for being so stocky!

IMG_2001

IMG_1996

IMG_1996

My friend Miki and I are those two little dots floating in the water.

IMG_2005

The beach is gorgeous and conveniently shaded by these palm trees, which is a big deal for a pale gal like myself.  It was so quiet and unspoiled, I loved every second.

IMG_2137

An anemone!

IMG_2120

IMG_2112

IMG_2109

Fish and chips!  For lunch everyday they had a few American/British options along with typical Sri Lankan dishes.

IMG_2101

IMG_2075

I applied sunscreen religiously but somehow my nose still got burnt.  Bummer.

IMG_2063

Who else loves the Hot Dog Legs tumblr page?

IMG_2053

This big iguana was swimming in the pool with everyone (but me – no thank you).

IMG_2042

IMG_2038

IMG_2032

What kind of fruit is this?  Even my Sri Lankan friends didn’t know.

IMG_2015

IMG_2162

The sunsets in Sri Lanka have been amazing each night I’ve spent there.

IMG_2175

IMG_2180

The resort sets up a special table on the beach each night, so we did that one night while a band played for us.  It was very cool.  We ate seafood mostly – octopus, lobster, prawns etc. during the trip.

IMG_2188

For breakfast I had egg hoppers every morning, which are eggs cooked in doughy sort of bowls and come with different curries.  A bit hard to explain.  I also had a ham and cheese omelet which was surprisingly delicious.

IMG_2192

They taught me how to play dominoes when it was too hot outside, around noon.

IMG_2125

Local fishermen’s boats that they had just brought back.

Look out for a separate post tomorrow talking about my favorite accessories during the trip.  I hope you had a good WiFi connection and could load all of these photos!  Have yourself a wonderful day.

All The Best,

E-SIG

11 thoughts on “My Trip to Sri Lanka (again)

Leave a Reply

