Liquid Highlighters: The 4-in-1 Beauty Product & Favorites

I don’t know about you, but I’m sick of seeing beautiful girls walking around with a frosted look on their cheeks.  It totally creeps me out.  How does this even happen?  Either too much highlighter, or one that doesn’t work well on your skin.  I really like liquid highlighters because I find them to be more natural.  They’re also multi-use, which I always love (makeup is expensive!  Plus, how can you ever get through a whole bottle of this just dabbing it on your cheekbones?)  Let’s look at the four ways you can use liquid highlighters to appear as if little baby angels came down from heaven and kissed your cheekbones.

DSC01784

Here wearing Buxom’s Divine Goddess Luminizer on my cheekbones

Primer.  None of these will do anything to prolong the wear of your makeup.  However, one of the most natural ways to give yourself a glow is to wear a luminizer under your foundation.  Then, it actually looks like you’re glowing from within.  It’s beautiful.

Mixed in With Foundation.  If your skin is looking dull or lackluster, mixing some highlighter in with your foundation will give you a natural, dewy look.  Also, you don’t have to worry about your face being unblended, because you’ve already blended it together beforehand.  Score!  A little goes a long way, too, by the way.

Highlighter.  Duh.  Rub this stuff between your fingers to get it nice and warm, then dab some on your cheekbones.  I like to go back with ELF’s Small Stipple brush just to make sure it’s completely blended.

Eyeshadow.  Who needs a $38 Giorgio Armani Eye Tint when you already have one of these?  For day time looks this stuff is great to brighten up your eyelids.  Some wear under shadows better than others, but for a quick all over lid sort of thing, liquid highlighter is perfect.

Here are some of my favorites:

Josie Maran Argan Englightenment Illuminizer, $26 – What I have swatched here must have been very recently discontinued and replaced with the product linked.  Since it’s so new I have no idea if they work similarly, but the ingredients are pretty much the same.

Buxom Divine Goddess Luminizer, $28

Charlotte Tilbury Instant Soft-Focus Beauty Flash, $55

Chanel Tan De Soleil, $48

IMG_0440 2

Thanks to my recent obsession with these, I haven’t even used powder highlighter in months.  I recently purchased the travel size of Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector in Moonstone during Ulta’s 10% off sale so fingers crossed!  Let me know if I missed any great liquid highlighters in the comments and thank you for reading!

All The Best,

E-SIG

15 thoughts on “Liquid Highlighters: The 4-in-1 Beauty Product & Favorites

    1. I think you would really like the Buxom highlighter. For fairer skin, I definitely recommend the Buxom or Jose Maran. Buxom’s is a little less opaque, though, so the finish is more natural. Charlotte Tilbury’s is also very good, it’s thin and transparent so it gives a natural radiance. I think your best bet is Buxom though, you can always dilute it with a thin foundation.. Mix them together and they’ll melt right into the rest of your skin!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for the tips!! I will definitely try out the Buxom one! I’ve actually never tried anything from the brand before so this will be a completely new experience!

        Like

      2. Good luck, I hope you like it as much as I do! With all of the different uses, you’re bound to like it as something. Worst case scenario you mix it in with your lotion and you go out that night as a sparkly golden goddess!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I agree with you on the frosty cheeks, yikes. I think the popularity of TheBalm MaryLou Manizer has created monsters with some heavy handed gals. That highlighter is hardcore!
    I don’t own any liquid highlighters! I have MAC Strobe Cream which I put underneath foundation to give it a bit of a glow. I am curious about the infamous Becca one.
    The Buxom looks amazing on you. It’s subtle but not TOO subtle that it can’t be seen. Nicely done! Very useful post!

    Like

    1. You’re totally right, after seeing that happen so much I actually got so turned off from MaryLou Manizer, which is a shame because it is very pretty when worn correctly. I’m probably going to review the Becca Skin Perfector when I get it, I’m really curious too. I’m glad this was helpful for you! 🙂

      Like

  2. My god you are gorgeous! I use a mineral powder highlighter from MAC and it only illuminates on direct light (flash etc). Looking forward to trying the Jose Maran, thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

