DupeDay feat. YSL Rouge Volupte Lipstick

Butter!  Who doesn’t love butter?  Potatoes suck, but then you add some butter and wow, potatoes are awesome.  Now, a lip butter?  Sounds great, I bet it’s really light and comfortable on the lips.  These two products are supposed to be creamy and comfortable with a shiny finish, but sadly only one really is.  Let’s see!

IMG_1152

Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter, Sorbet $6.49

I think maybe Revlon’s a little confused about what butter is, because this stuff is a bit more sticky than I expected.  Its butteriness is not impressive, but it sure does stay on the lips.  I’d be more likely to use this when I’m looking for a stain.  I spent hours (and had a lovely day) in SoHo when I tried this out and by the late afternoon my lips were still pink without reapplying.

IMG_1147

Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupte Lipstick, Opera Rose $36

Wow, this stuff is like a dream.  I hate wearing a heavy-feeling product on my lips and this is so smooth, creamy and comfortable to me.  I don’t even understand how this can be creamier, yet more pigmented: usually there’s  trade-off involved.  It does lack the staying power of the Revlon Lip Butter, however.  You will need to reapply after a few hours.

IMG_1310

IMG_1341

So, is a little stickiness enough to make you spend $30 more for lipstick?  I’m not even sure myself, but I wouldn’t repurchase Revlon’s Lip Butter.  If you’re looking one single lipstick that you can wear everyday, all day, comfortably then I think the Rouge Volupte lipstick is a great option.  Sephora’s spring sale should be coming soon (!?) so if you’re in the market for a new lipstick, keep this one in mind!

All The Best,

E-SIG

7 thoughts on “DupeDay feat. YSL Rouge Volupte Lipstick

  1. YSL lipstick is the best! I love that Opera Rose color – I’ll have to try it out the next time I’m at Sephora. Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

