Coconut Oil for your Skin

I still remember the look of horror on my mom’s face as she watched what was to become my regular beauty routine for years.  I asked her to pick me up some unrefined coconut oil from Trader Joes.  She was confused because neither of us cook.  “No, mom, I’m going to rub it all over my face and it’s going to make my skin beautiful.”  This was before expensive beauty oils had hit the market, at this time skin care products were touted as “oil free” and everyone was really happy about that.  Now, coconut oil is like the Windex in My Big Fat Greek Wedding, but some people are searching for ways to use up the whole jar (Hi Laura!) so let’s talk about some simple uses I’ve picked up over the years for this cheap and awesome oil.

IMG_1179 IMG_1182

Moisturizer.  You can use this stuff everywhere on your body.  I really like that I can use it on my lips (with the chemicals in store bought moisturizers I always feel freaked out getting it on my lips).  For me, in the wintertime, it’s not hydrating enough on its own.  For people with normal to combination skin, though, this product can be used year-round.  I love to use it on make up free days because it gives my skin a beautiful glow, but it also wears so nicely under makeup.  That glow shines through your foundation, so it can make really dull skin look luminous.  Also, it’s about $7 per jar, which might make it the most inexpensive moisturizer, ever.

Body Scrub.  Go wherever your dry goods are stored, grab some salt or sugar, mixed it in with some of this stuff, and you have yourself what may also be the most inexpensive, and hydrating, body scrub ever.  If you like a nice scent with your body scrubs (I definitely do) you can mix in peppermint or lavender oil.  I’m embarrassed to admit that I once paid about $15 for a scrub at Whole Foods that was basically exactly what I just described.

Lip Balm.  I hate the feeling of a petroleum-based balm just sitting on my lips.  It feels like they’re suffocating.  If you understand what I mean, keep a small jar of this in your purse.  It’s so thin, it sinks into the lips quickly.  Just the way I like my balms; hydrating without being invasive.

Makeup Remover.  I have yet to find a more gentle makeup remover, especially for the thin skin around your eye.  Rub some of this around your eye area then wipe the makeup off with a q-tip and you’ll never need to buy Make Up For Ever’s Sens-Eyes, or any makeup remover, again.  This million-uses-in-one product can’t be beat for travel.

This was originally a one-poster but I split it up into two categories and two posts, so click here for information about how it can also help your hair and nails.  Also, who likes my impersonation of the girl emoji with her hand in the air?  I tried my hardest, but I’m no actress.

All The Best,

E-SIG

11 thoughts on “Coconut Oil for your Skin

Leave a Reply

