4 Drugstore Primers feat. Maybelline, Revlon, and L’Oreal

No one wants to add an extra step to their beauty routine without seeing any benefits.  Primers have always seemed a little bit gimmicky to me, plus I try to wear the smallest amount of layers of product on my face as possible.  So, I resisted using a primer up until about a year ago.  My friend Suzy asked me for a primer recommendation, and I realized I had never found one from the drugstore that I really liked.  I always like to give drugstore recommendations when I’m asked, so I thought I’d try a few more out.

IMG_0363 2 Maybelline Baby Skin, $6.99.  My mom gave this to me because she didn’t think it made a difference in the appearance of her skin.  Honestly, I’m put off by the texture.  It looks and feels like medical goo.  I’ve used silicone-based primers before, but this one is clear and thick, unlike Smashbox or Benefit’s primers.  It does blur the look of pores somewhat, like primers with dimethicone usually do, but it also leaves a shiny finish to skin which draws attention back to your pores.  Who wants that?

L’oreal Magic Lumi, $12.99.  By far my least favorite of the four, and not only because of the separated product that the dispenser produces.  I noticed a distinctly dry feeling immediately upon applying, which is disconcerting.  Also, it leaves a very fake-looking film over the skin.  I thought maybe I was being a bit harsh, so I actually applied it to the back of my hand to see how it performs while I write this.  I’m looking at it now and it’s pretty terrible.  I’ll be writing about liquid highlighters this week, so check back to read about products that actually will give your skin a healthy glow.  UPDATE:  Check out that post here!

Revlon PhotoReady Perfecting Primer, $13.99.  This is my favorite product of the four.   It contains the same silicone ingredient (dimethicone), but it’s much thinner than either Maybelline primer.  I find it to be a bit brightening on my skin as well, maybe because of its light pink color.  It wears just fine under makeup, but I have a feeling I’ll be wearing this on no-makeup days (which happens most days) to give my skin a more smooth appearance.  It’s undetectable on the skin, unlike Maybelline’s formula, which makes it the perfect product for days like those.

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind, $8.99.  This is basically the same formula as Baby Skin, repackaged.  It’s a shame because I like the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind concealer so much (for a review click here).  If you look up the ingredients in both, you’ll find Baby Skin has two or three extra ingredients, otherwise they’re the same.  If you’re simply looking for a blurring effect, these will both be fine.
IMG_0809Above with Revlon PhotoReady Perfecting Primer IMG_0812Above without any primer.IMG_0398 2Above is Magic Lumi swatch (with other makeup underneath because my hands are never clean!)

Are there any drugstore primers I missed?  Let me know and let’s chat about our experiences in the comments.  Also, let’s follow each other on BlogLovin (here)!

All The Best,
E-SIG

19 thoughts on “4 Drugstore Primers feat. Maybelline, Revlon, and L’Oreal

    1. I use my hands, I’m not sure if it’s actually the case but I feel like the heat helps it melt into the skin faster. I’ve noticed enough of a change to not give it away (I already gave the other three away) but I’m not sure I would repurchase, I’d rather put that money into my skincare routine!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Even though you recommended drugstore primers, I found myself walking out of Sephora with four primers in hand, all Smashbox. The Smashbox Pore Minimizer is what rubbing angel wings and baby puppies on your face must feel like because it’s SO SOFT! The Smashbox Photo Finish Light which is still great after a day at work but feels like a moisturizer when it goes on (no angel wings or baby puppies to rave about here). The Smashbox Blemish Control is nice and I’ve only worn it 4 times and can see a slight difference in my skin. I didn’t have major acne before, just some scarring. Which is why I also bought the Smashbox Dark Spot fader. You also told me I didn’t have dark spots, but I don’t listen to you (See: primer suggestions). I’m going to try using this one for the entire month of April (claims improvements in four weeks) so I’ll let you know. THEN I’ll buy Revlon. 😉

    Like

    1. Suzy I feel like you’re trying to take my job here and it’s not cool. Also, I think your smash box primers are dumb now because that silky feeling is from the silicone and you can get silicone-based primers for a fraction of the price at the drugstore. But I’M REALLY SORRY for trying to save you money, susan. We’ll never go to Costa Rica at this rate with all of these frivolous purchases!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post..♡♡♡♡ is so hard for me to find a good primer;my face is so dry and i have pores. Im going to try the revlon . Ill c how it works..

    Like

Leave a Reply

