NYX Intense Butter Gloss & More

NYX is one of my favorite brands.  Solid quality, interesting products, and reasonable prices.  In Manhattan, drug store make up is pretty expensive, so their products are usually cheaper.  I had wanted to try out the Intense Butter Gloss from their spring collection, so I ordered a few from Ulta plus a couple other things.  I was not disappointed in these guys.

Consistency.  Not bad.  That’s actually saying something because something so pigmented could be bad, easily.  These are not too thick or sticky, but not exactly lightweight either.  The smell is nice, too – I always like the fragrance Nyx uses in their lip products and it’s always pretty much the same.

Colors.  These come in 12 shades and they’re all very vibrant.  No matter what, you’re going to have a bold lip look with these.  My personal favorite of the three is Tres Leches.

Price.  $5.99.  It’s hard to find a cheaper lip product that performs so well in my opinion. UPDATE:  I’m wrong.  The Wet & Wild $2 lipsticks, duh.

Pigmentation.  The pigmentation on these is definitely intense.  You don’t need more than two swipes across the lips.  You do, however, need a lip liner in my opinion.  The applicator doesn’t come to a sharp enough point to make a very precise line.  It’s not impossible though, and if you can manage this is a one product look as opposed to a regular lipstick which also requires a liner and gloss.  If you don’t have a liner to match, you can set the edges with some translucent powder on a tiny brush.

DSC01111

NapoleonDSC01138

Spice Cake
DSC01181

Tres Leches

DSC01237

DSC01197

I also picked up a cream blush by NYX in Natural, which I like a whole lot.  Application is key for this blush.  I used the ELF Small Stipple Brush which is dense enough for good color deposit, but small enough that I have control.  If I didn’t own this brush (or something similar) I would definitely use my fingers.  The heat from your hands is usually a great way to soften cream products, making them easier to blend.  By the way, isn’t the eyeshadow I’m wearing so pretty?  If you’re interested in the MakeupGeek Foiled Eyeshadows, you can read about them here.

All The Best,

E-SIG

12 thoughts on “NYX Intense Butter Gloss & More

  1. I’m so glad you love these! So do I, for me I hate using lip liners because they can be hard to find, but you can always use some concealer or a clear lip liner (I got mine from Sephora~)

    Like

  2. I want to try these so bad, but the last time I went to Ulta, they were completely wiped out except for Banana Split, which is this yellow-y orange that I didn’t think would compliment my skin

    Like

  3. I wish I could get my hands on these in store – I have to order them but I like to swatch before I buy. The first shade looks beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

